Exciting News to Share…

on

Well, it’s been a long, long time since I’ve posted on My Wooden Spoons.

As many of you know who have been following my food blog, I took a break from posting recipes to focus on my passion for food photography.  It has taken me in a few directions and I have enjoyed spending time honing my craft.

Now for my exciting news!

I am happy to announce that some of my work has been featured in two new magazines.

I was commissioned to work on the re-launch of JamaicanEats magazine and am excited that the final product is now published and available to purchase, July issue 2015.  I was thrilled to ‘land the cover’ photo for the new magazine. ( that certainly has a nice ring to it ) 🙂

11174799_10155803685570357_2795744991035079260_n[1]

You can order your copy now at http://jamaicaneats.com/

I was also contacted by another new magazine which is based in Barbados. The editors chose my recipe for ‘Dijon Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad’ which appears on Page 37, and I was also added as a “Featured Foodie’. The magazine is free digitally and it is also published quarterly. The next issue October/Christmas will be available in print.

So it’s been quite an exciting time exploring the world of food photography and especially gratifying that I was recognized for my work and passion.

I also want to take this time to thank you for all the years of support. Many of you have been with me from my humble beginnings of cooking, sharing recipes and photographing some delicious foods. I hope that those following my blog, haven’t been too disappointed when I decided to take a break from sharing my recipes. It’s been quite evident to me for sometime, that I’m basically a ‘free style’ cook, adding ingredients as I go. It was always a challenge to sit down and put my recipes on paper in order to share with you. Following directions, adding proper measures and weights doesn’t come naturally to me.

I am still undecided as to the direction of my food blog, whether it be strictly photography or possibly ‘featured recipes’ periodically, but rest assured, I will keep you posted.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and keep on cooking!

Yours truly,

Jackie / Sprat 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathy M. says:

    Congrats Jackie on your photo publications. You have inspired me to experiment more with food photography. I also cook the same way as you…rarely following a recipe exactly and measuring most times by sight. I’m glad to see you will be posting on your blog again. Photos would be great…with the odd recipe thrown in would be even better!

    1. Sprat says:

      Thanks Cathy…it’s been so much fun working on something that I love to do. Working on my own terms, well I guess I have always done that! haha… Glad to hear that you are going to explore food photography! You don’t have to go too far, style as you please, play around with natural lighting and see what you come up with 🙂 Another whole world of photography opens up for you!

      Thanks for taking the time comment.. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Congratulations! You’re a rock star.

    1. Sprat says:

      Aww…thank you so much for taking the time to post Karen 🙂 I sure do appreciate it and as you can see, I am enjoying this new passion very much! 🙂

      1. Marianne says:

        Jackie,
        Your food photos are always so beautiful. Nice to see you posting on your blog again. Congratulations on your magazine articles, I’m sure this is only the beginning.

      2. Sprat says:

        Thank you Marianne…and I appreciate you taking the time to post. It’s been a fun journey with the food photography and as you well know, I am enjoying every minute of it. I have a lot more to learn, but it’s proving to be a great passion and hobby 🙂 Never too old to re-invent ourselves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

