Portobello Veggie Tower with Balsamic Dressing


Portobello Veggie Tower with Balsamic Dressing

Construction began….foundation was set..and all the materials were in place. I didn’t think I would need any scafolding…but I was ready just in case. The specs looked good and I knew that this was a tower to be reckoned with….one like no other πŸ™‚

After careful placement of the portobello, the next few layers were laid. Egg plant, zucchini, tomato, shaved ham, red onion, tomato…..to keep it all together. A great veggie tower….monumental to say the least.

Portobello Veggie Tower with Balsamic Dressing

Portobello Veggie Tower with Balsamic Dressing

Blue Cheese adds the zip to this delicous meal

Just waiting for the construction clean up crew to show up!

Ingredients

3 cloves garlic
2 slices egg plant ( blanched )
3 slices zucchini
1 large portobello mushroom
1 medium slice red onion
2 large slices of tomato
Shaved ham ( enough for one )
Balsamic dressing
Garlic herb seasoning wine
Blue cheese ( crumbled )

Prepare

Remove the stem from the portobello mushroom and leave the gills in tact. ( most flavour comes from the gills ).

In a skillet add garlic and herbs ( parsley & thyme ). Lightly saute the egg plant, zucchini and red onion. Only cook for a few minutes to soften the vegetables.

Heat oven to 300 degrees and brush the portobello with balsamic dressing. Bake by itself for 10 minutes.

Remove the portobello and top with crumbled blue cheese. Add one slice of egg plant, tomato, shaved ham ( I used smoked cherrywood ) zucchini, onion, egg plant then tomato.

Top the veggie tower with a piece of shaved ham and add blue cheese and a sprig of parsley.
Bake in the oven for approximately 10 minutes.

Transfer to plate and dizzle with balsamic dressing. Add a side of spring mx with baby spinach.

Serves 1

Enjoy πŸ™‚ Don’t forget to take pictures of your tower!

Pair with a white wine of choice.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Seveen says:

    oh you’re killing me – bite!

    looks better than delicious

  2. Sprat says:

    Thanks Seveen…don’t mean to be killing ya hun… πŸ™‚ just tempting your taste buds.

  3. Carol says:

    Dear Jackie:
    I love your photos so much~ so much~ We are a manufacturer of Pomme Anna and Veggie Tower,
    but we can’t get a shot like yours. We are going to take part of an international food fair, and I’m not satisfied with
    our photos.
    May I buy yours? Of course our veggie tower is a little different from yours, but I just like your photos so so much~
    If you can give me a price, I have to get my boss’s permission before I pay.
    I wish I can hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

