An Old fashioned Strawberry Shortcake…


The credit here goes to my father-in-law again…since he is now a force to be reckoned with on my blog…

He kind of outdoes me…in some of the cooking catergories…Mmmmmmm

Note to self ~~~ I have no dessert category as yet! lol

So the story goes….

Summer is such a difficult time to cut out those great desserts with fresh berries and whipped cream. So, at lunch I surrendered to the coaxing of my 80 year old father-in-law.

He happily spent an hour in the kitchen making from scratch, the most wonderful short cake.

Oh…and of course, he didn’t buy those plump, red strawberries on sale at the grocery store, like you or I would have done, he drove to the U-pick and before long he was caught in a downpour.

That didn’t seem to dampen his spirits, he was a happy man bearing the fruits of his hard labour.

An Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake

After that story, how could I ever say no, when he offered me the first slice of strawberry shortcake.

Leave a Reply

